If physical illnesses were treated like mental health issues

This well written post adds some levity to the serious. It was written by one of our own. It goes well with my post “What if Bipolar Disorder was Respected as a Physical Illness…by us?

Enjoy!

The Manic Years

helpful advice1

Another post I came across which I just had to share.

This powerful illustration expresses a message towards the stigma that (unfortunately, still) underpins mental illness in many of our lives today. The image hit home for me, as there are so many hidden debilitating features of bipolar disorder that contribute towards this ignorance…

For example,

Having to explain to my mother why I can’t wash up/wash myself.

Having to explain to friends why I cannot attend/have to leave early when it comes to social events.

… why I am so, so tired and it’s NOT due to the fact that I have continuously slept for 14 hours.

… why I missed that doctors appointment/prescription renewal again/didn’t pick up the phone….

… Why I feel the way I do.

How do you explain to someone how you feel and why you feel like that when there just is no reason why?

Mental…

View original post 109 more words

Leave a Reply

