Kay Jamison Queen of the Bipolars

I cannot believe I have not yet mentioned Kay Jamison.  I should be ashamed.  I have not yet mentioned Kay Jamison on my BIPOLAR blog.  How could I be so uncouth?! I was obviously raised in a barn. Oh the crassness of it all!

Forgive me.

I am sure many of you already know her.  But there may be some newbies who have not.

So if you don’t..

You can go to John’s Hopkins Medicine Psychiatry page and read all about her….

Jamison is a full professor of psychiatry who has researched widely on medication adherence and suicide. She’s co-authored Manic Depressive Illness: Bipolar Disorders and Recurrent Depression, the definitive book on the topic.

But guess what…She is also Bipolar

for real

She has written many amazing books.  About suicide and creativity…

The most widely known being her autobiography, An Unquiet Mind.  This is a gorgeous and fascinating book.  It is also on the Bipolar required reading list.

What? You didn’t know there was one? Yeah it’s on page 37 of the Bipolar handbook.

Hey loved ones…it’s on your list too

Get thee to the library!

or to Amazon!

(for the literals..there are no real handbooks.)

Click here to go to a page that contains a short excerpt from An Unquiet Mind.  You will be glad you did.

I am going to finish this with a bunch of awesome quotes from Goodreads.

“I compare myself with my former self, not with others. Not only that, I tend to compare my current self with the best I have been, which is when I have been mildly manic. When I am my present “normal” self, I am far removed from when I have been my liveliest, most productive, most intense, most outgoing and effervescent. In short, for myself, I am a hard act to follow.”
― Kay Redfield Jamison, An Unquiet Mind: A Memoir of Moods and Madness

“Suicide is not a blot on anyone’s name; it is a tragedy ”
― Kay Redfield Jamison, Night Falls Fast: Understanding Suicide

“Who would not want an illness that has among its symptoms elevated and expansive mood, inflated self-esteem, abundance of energy, less need for sleep, intensified sexuality, and- most germane to our argument here-“sharpened and unusually creative thinking” and “increased productivity”?”
― Kay Redfield Jamison, Touched with Fire: Manic-Depressive Illness and the Artistic Temperament

“I remember sitting in his office a hundred times during those grim months and each time thinking, What on earth can he say that will make me feel better or keep me alive? Well, there never was anything he could say, that’s the funny thing. It was all the stupid, desperately optimistic, condescending things he didn’t say that kept me alive; all the compassion and warmth I felt from him that could not have been said; all the intelligence, competence, and time he put into it; and his granite belief that mine was a life worth living.”
― Kay Redfield Jamison, An Unquiet Mind: A Memoir of Moods and Madness

“I long ago abandoned the notion of a life without storms, or a world without dry and killing seasons. Life is too complicated, too constantly changing, to be anything but what it is. And I am, by nature, too mercurial to be anything but deeply wary of the grave unnaturalness involved in any attempt to exert too much control over essentially uncontrollable forces. There will always be propelling, disturbing elements, and they will be there until, as Lowell put it, the watch is taken from the wrist. It is, at the end of the day, the individual moments of restlessness, of bleakness, of strong persuasions and maddened enthusiasms, that inform one’s life, change the nature and direction of one’s work, and give final meaning and color to one’s loves and friendships.”
― Kay Redfield Jamison, An Unquiet Mind: A Memoir of Moods and Madness

There are thousands more.  Most deserve a separate post.

It is Kay’s world.  We are all just living in it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

